Return to UNH Magazine Alumni News

For Service

Unwavering commitment." "Selfless efforts." "A passion for UNH." These attributes and more were cited when the Alumni Association celebrated the service of eight alumni at its 2011 Alumni Achievement awards ceremony on Homecoming Weekend.

Profile of Service Award recipients were Paul Bamford '75 and J. Gregg Sanborn '66, '77G. Bamford has been a stalwart supporter of the UNH basketball program, has mentored students searching for jobs, and was chairman of The UNH Fund 2011. Sanborn provided steady and thoughtful leadership at UNH for nearly four decades in a number of administrative positions. He also served as executive director of the UNH Alumni Association until his retirement in 2009.

Receiving the Alumni Meritorious Service Award were Craig Abbott '70, Bill Jackson '75, Marianne Gross Gaspary '79 and Brad Thompson '68. Abbott is a founding member of the WSBE Alumni Society and established an endowment for international studies. Jackson served on the CEPS Industrial Advisory Council and the Alumni Association golf tournament fundraiser committee. Bill and his wife, Martha '76, '96G, established a scholarship for international studies. Gaspary has helped the UNH Admissions office in the Chicago area and has been involved with the Chicago alumni chapter. Thompson, an active member of the Lakes Region alumni chapter, has supported nearly 20 UNH funds and organizations.

While a student at UNH, Tito Jackson '99, who received the Young Alumnus Award, worked to expand opportunities for multicultural students. A regular speaker for the UNH Connect program, he inspires students with his passion and commitment to service.

Civil engineering professor Nancy Kinner '80G, '83G founded the internationally recognized Coastal Response Research Center and provided her expertise to the government and the national media during the Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster. She received the Award of Excellence for Outstanding Achievement.

Return to UNH Magazine Alumni News